Scared Sacred

Scared Sacred

“Scared/Sacred… Just move a few letters, and it all makes sense…”

That came to me from somewhere. Is it really that simple? It might be. This is where I’m starting: Not really knowing, but doing, anyway. Moving around the A, the Alpha, the beginning. And, right now, that’s all I know.

This blog began its birthing at the Blackwell Island RV Resort in northern Idaho – a long way from my home base in Connecticut – in mid-October, 2012. But its gestation period has been a long one, borne along by the urging of loved ones, and by my finally getting tired of my own excuses for not doing it. Those excuses have been many; some of them I’m sure you’d recognize. I’m good at finding or creating excuses for not doing all kinds of things. All those excuses are still quite near, looking over my shoulder, hoping they still mean something. They no longer do, and that makes all the difference.

So far, so good.

This is the beginning of this blog, but it is far from the beginning of my lifelong journey from being “scared” to knowing the “sacred.” Now that journey has brought me to this vast internet of unknown and untried opportunities, skills, possibilities, challenges, and whatever else might be out here… Of course, I’ve dabbled around in it a bit for years, but this is different. And it’s a little scary.

It’s also very much sacred. It’s my belief that we humans are charged with experiencing and sharing with each other at least two very important things: Community, and communication. Celebration and concern. Our parties, and our souls. This is the path of Spirit… On the web, as everywhere else.

I’m taking what I like to think of as the “Star Trek Approach” to blogging: “…to explore strange new worlds; to seek out new life and new civilizations; to boldly go where [only several million other bloggers have] gone before…”

A few things you may expect to find here as time goes by: more drawings (mine); photographs (also mine); demons and little monsters (mine – and maybe yours); opinions about everything from politics to spirituality and morality to being a woman to growing older to loving oneself and others (not only my opinions here, but those of others who move me, as well); travel stories; some funny stuff; links and books and other blogs I like, and hope you will, too; and whatever else may crop up as this blog gets its own life going.

Let’s see what happens – that’s the whole point, isn’t it?

Carol

Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Bruce

     /  October 10, 2012

    I admire your courage.

    Reply
  2. betseyc

     /  October 11, 2012

    Congratulations, dear friend. I couldn’t be happier to see you launch your blog. Can’t wait for more.

    Reply
    • Bruce Clark

       /  October 11, 2012

      I also offer “congratulations” and understand that the follow on post is being worked on.

      Reply
  3. Thanks, B, for your thoughts. I’ll keep them in mind.

    Reply
  4. Jc

     /  October 14, 2012

    Best wishes on this new endeavor of yours Carol! I know you as Gato from M&H, and will check in now and then. Above all, HAVE FUN!

    Reply
  5. Congrats on starting your blog. I found you via Margaret and Helen’s blog.

    Reply
  6. dcg

     /  October 15, 2012

    What? No politics? No football? No The Ohio State University? Well, here’s a wah-hoo-wah for your courage in getting started. I will check in from time to time.

    dg in Hanover Center

    Reply
    • Denny, you sly dog… I almost didn’t know it was you, for a moment there…

      Can’t thank you enough for replying. We’ve shared our newsletter editorships. Mine here is now going totally web-based, and there’s not much left for me to do. Unless, of course, they want some content.(They might not.)

      We’ll be in Hanover near the end of this month for Homecoming, and we so look forward to seeing you and Laura-Beth. Bruce has brought me great friends. You two among the best.

      This blog thing is a totally new adventure for me. I hardly know what I’m doing, and I’m confident I’ll figure it out.

      Good time up in your lake house…? I just spent some time with a really good girlfriend, in her RV, in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. I liked the RV life a lot. Very simple. Everything you need, and not one thing more.

      We have a dumpster here, out front,and are filling it up. B did a great job on the basement. Now I think I have to do the attic… Yikes!

      Much affection to both of you, and eager to see you both.

      Carol

      Reply
  7. Welcome aboard, my friend! You are in for one heck of a ride on this blogging adventure. It’s magical and inspiring, enlightening and encouraging. Looks like you’re off to an excellent start with this thoughtful bit of word play. Bonne chance!

    Reply
  8. claudette ross

     /  October 15, 2012

    Gato, love your comments on M&H, am looking forward to following you here. Best of luck.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Claudette… M&H do such a wonderful job, and they inspired me. (And I have a great GF who knows her way around all this internet stuff, and she got me going…)

      Thinking about my next post, which will probably be about two women, their laptops, and a wonderful dog, spending a week in her RV, doing exactly this.

      Call me gato, or Carol… I seem to be both. You could do this, too!

      Reply
      • Jc

         /  October 16, 2012

        Good lord, if I were in Cour d’Alene I’d say the heck with my laptop (I frequently do anyway!) and go play in the mountains! We are pretty flat here! However, all this talk of cleaning is unsettling and reminds me of when we cleaned out, closed up, and sold my parents’ house after my father had a stroke and it became clear they could no longer live on their own. We did the garage one weekend, my brother pulled the attic down the next; we had no basement, water table too high thank God or there would have been more! 38 years of the accumulated detritus of life! It took me ten weekends to help them go thru it all…sigh. I hope you are not facing a situation like that?!
        Regards, JC

  9. Hi, Jc – No worries; not doing anything too major here. Just going through stuff that has piled up recently (i.e. the last four or five months). Giving lots of books to the local library, after I’ve pulled out my favorite thoughts from them and collected them in an e-file. (Potential blog material, as is everything nowadays…) The main book I’m actually reading now is “WordPress for Dummies”.

    I got divorced about twenty years ago, and ended up in a very small house with not much of anything I used to have. I was really excited when, shortly after I moved in, I got a postcard from Bed, Bath, and Beyond, saying, “Welcome, New Homeowner. Come by and pick up a free laundry basket.” I thought to myself… “Didn’t I used to have a laundry basket…?”

    As Thoreau so wisely said, “Possessions are a trial to the soul, and a joy to the senses.”

    BTW, we’ve offered space in that dumpster to our neighbors, and they’re helping to fill it up. Every woman I know has the hots for a dumpster. We’re like hounds when we see one nearby. We just go for it, like bacon.

    As for the attic… It’s mostly my art work from many decades. I should have done jewelry. It’s so much smaller.

    Thanks for writing; I look forward to more from you. My GF and I did do a little poking around in the nearby National Forest in northern Idaho (minus laptops). but one of our goals was to get me going on this, which we did. A great gift to me from a wonderful Soul Sister. And spending eight days with my dearest friend and her dog…? Priceless.

    Gato/Carol, or whatever

    Reply
  10. sidney18511

     /  October 17, 2012

    Hey Gato…..Francine aka Sidney. I must say, I am impressed. I love your posts at M&H and I am sure that your sense of humor and common sense will fill your writings on your own blog. I wish you luck and will be a visitor. Please tackle politics here, if you can. Your smart, knowledgeable, and you have a way of pointing something out that was unseen, but there all the time.

    Reply
  11. Linda Butler

     /  November 17, 2012

    Nice writing, Carol! Read something recently that somehow made me think of this blog: Listen and Silent have the same letters… Love, Linder

    Reply

Leave a Reply

