This Nation is not a Corporation…

No picture this time, friends. Bear with me! I had vowed that I would avoid “politics” here, which was kind of crazy on my part, because that’s just what I’ve been obsessed with for as long as you may have been, and tomorrow we may start to get some idea of where we’re going. (Sandy left me, and much of the East Coast, with very few communication outlets for at least six days and, for many, more days to come. And many of our fellow citizens have lost much more than their ability to communicate…)

Our country is changing. The world is changing. We will either accommodate ourselves to these changes, and work with them, or we will become the newest “Third World Nation”… A nation whose laws are drawn to benefit multi-national companies, and their shareholders; whose land is raped for their profits, and not ours; run by a government who fears and loathes at least half of its citizens, and considers them (us) to be slackers and ne’er-do-wells; a country where a small minority of wealthy people live in walled compounds, surrounded by an angry, hungry, and uneducated populace, many of them armed and dangerous; a country whose government works to legally impose its “values” on the majority of its citizens. This is not the America I’ve ever had in mind, and certainly not the one I’d like to leave for my granddaughter.

These things are the absolute antithesis of what the founders of this great nation had in mind. The great premise of “America” has always been that we are a nation of citizens, not servants of some corporate entity. We are not here to create profits solely for others; we are here to benefit ourselves, and our fellow citizens, and our descendants, and we expect our government to reflect our wishes. Does anyone remember the British crown and its East India Company – the original “multi-national,” whose strangling grip our founders refused to endure? It strikes me as incredibly ironic that our current Tea Party, apparently so in support of letting Big Business escape the chains of “regulation,” is named after an event that was about exactly the opposite. THAT event was about our refusal to have our lives run by a corporation, its CEO, and its shareholders, to our own detriment.

So, IMHO, we don’t need a CEO for President. We need someone who understands that we are part of a global nation, as well as our own; someone who knows that we are one nation among many, and no more, and no less, exceptional than any other; who understands both our strengths and our weaknesses; who understands the strengths and weaknesses of other nations; and who is aware of our common humanity. In short, we need four more years of the President we have now – Barack Hussein Obama… Because he represents the nation we are, and the nation we were always meant to be.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Terry Waggle

     /  November 5, 2012

    Bravo! I would vote for you. I too am sick of all the negative ads and comments from the Republicans and the Tea Party. My granddaughter who is 7 was very excited about having voted at her school today. I knew whom she had voted for but I asked anyway. She said, “Obama, of course. Romney would get rid of PBS Kids and make people like you pay twice as much!” I asked her how she knew this and she said it was on the announcements at school! I think they had kids who gave speeches for the two candidates. I happened to be there last Friday since it was a parent/grandparent reading participation day so I saw the announcements. All I saw was something about Romney and Ryan which I had to look away from! At least the kids were getting both sides of the campaign.
    Our country has changed drastically from two major parties working together for the common good. The bottom line is corporate greed and we’re just pawns on their chess board.
    On Saturday I got back in my car outside Hobby Lobby to discover someone had left a message on my windshield. It was a single spaced, small type page long rant against Obama. It was so ugly I couldn’t bring myself to read the whole thing. A friend I told about this said that Hobby Lobby is owned by a very conservative Michelle Bachmann type Christian and that it could have been the work of someone at that store. I wish I had driven around to see if any other cars with Obama bumper stickers had the paper on their windshields. I haven’t decided what to do about it; write a letter to the store manager or just not shop there anymore!
    It’s almost comical since the other two bumper stickers I have are 1) When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace and 2) Do justice, love kindness, walk humbly with your God – Micah 6:8. But then again the second one got me berated in a Walmart parking lot when I had a sticker supporting stem cell research here in Missouri!
    Keep up the good work. I’m feeling hopeful about tomorrow. I think I’ll pull out my Annie CD and play that song, “Tomorrow”. – Terry

    Reply
  2. Iris

     /  November 6, 2012

    Hey Gato – great post.
    I believe Obama will win, but it will be after drawn out legal battles and ballot recounts.
    Thank goodness he’s a fighter.

    Reply
  3. Deanne

     /  November 6, 2012

    AMEN sister!
    Deanne

    Reply
  4. Laura Young Kilkenny

     /  November 6, 2012

    Thanks for the great post Carol! As the mother of your granddaughter, I gladly welcome your views on the best path for our common welfare. Spread the word!

    Reply
  5. pelican

     /  November 6, 2012

    I’ll drink to that! (This is a party, isn’t it?) BLUE sky out here in Northern California. We’ll start watching the results from the East Coast in a couple of hours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

